How to Block Someone on Telegram
Telegram is a free app that enables people to send messages, market their businesses in groups and chats, or just have a private conversation. But anyone with your number can contact you on the app. People can also message you if they find your public username. This can get a little annoying.
Fortunately, the app offers its users the option to block any unwanted contacts. Regardless of the reason, you can block any user on Telegram and get rid of the inconvenience.
In this article, we’ll go through the methods to block users on Telegram from their Android, iOS, and desktop devices.
How to Block Someone On Telegram
Blocking someone on Telegram is easy, but the steps can differ depending on your device. You can do it on your Android, iOS, and desktop devices.
Follow the steps mentioned below to block a contact on Telegram.
On an Android Device
Android devices are known for their simple interface and multiple features. If you have an Android phone, you can block someone on Telegram by following these steps:
Another way to block contacts on an Android device is by looking for connections. But this one is only useful if you have the contact saved on your device.
The interface for Telegram on an iOS device is different from Android. This is why you might need to follow a few different steps to block someone on Telegram on an iPhone.
Here’s how you can do it:
Once done, the user will be blocked from your Telegram account and lose access to your profile. You cannot send them messages unless you unblock them.
It is also possible to search for a contact in the Chat section and use the steps mentioned above to block them. This is useful if the particular user is not added to your contact list. Telegram also allows users to block someone new as soon as they send a text.
Like many other messaging apps, Telegram is also accessible on desktops. You might require a premium quality VPN on your PC to access the desktop site in some regions of the world.
Here are the steps to block a Telegram user on your Windows desktop:
Similarly, on macOS (Apple computers), users can block contacts through the Telegram app by opening the website and finding the contact they wish to block. Tap the Contact name and then choose More. Scroll down until you see Block and select it.
What Happens if You Block a Telegram User?
Compared to WhatsApp, Telegram is a relatively public app. It works on the concept that people and groups within your vicinity can contact you if you allow People Nearby feature. Telegram has several useful features, but it might also get a bit frustrating. When you block someone on Telegram, the following things happen…
The user will no longer be able to contact you through messages. The messages won’t be delivered, and the user on the other end is not notified that you have blocked them. All undelivered messages are left with a single tick.
You will not receive calls from the people on your block list. The phone will ring on their end, but you will not receive the call. Also, you will not receive any notifications if they try to call you.
Does Not Show Last Seen
Telegram comes with an automatic last-seen option. It is possible to turn off your last seen on Telegram, so the user is unable to see when you previously opened the app. Blocked users also won’t see when you come online.
No Profile Picture
Telegram takes care of your privacy if you decide to block a user. Besides blocking calls, messages, and online statuses, it also removes the visibility of your pictures. When you block someone on Telegram, your profile picture is no longer visible to them.
Keep Your Telegram Experience Safe
Telegram is a public app that allows people from different regions to connect. This can get a little frustrating for some users.
It is possible to block contacts on Telegram. You can perform appropriate steps to revoke your profile access by blocking a contact. Once you block someone, Telegram revokes their access to message you. Even the calls are not sent through. Plus, blocking also hides your profile picture from that contact.
A blocked contact cannot view your last seen or when you come online. You can make your Telegram account safe by following the steps mentioned above.