Life StyleNewsTravel

How to Delete Telegram Account: 2 Quick Ways

Although Telegram has over 700 million monthly users, it isn’t the top choice for many to exchange messages or media. Whether your friends are on WhatsApp, and there is hardly anybody to chat with, or you are done with the platform altogether, in this article we will show you how to delete your Telegram account swiftly and what will happen to your data.

How to Delete Telegram Account

Unfortunately, you cannot temporarily deactivate your Telegram account. The only option is to delete it permanently. So, if you do want to use Telegram for some time, we recommend uninstalling the Telegram app rather than deleting the account. This way, when you’re ready, you can re-install Telegram and take it from where you left off.

However, if you’ve decided to hit a permanent pause on your Telegram account, follow along. Let’s start with understanding what will happen to your data.

Can You Recover Your Data Once Your Account Is Deleted

Deleting your Telegram account will remove all your messages, contacts, channels, groups, and other data from Telegram’s servers. So, if you delete your Telegram account, you can’t get your old messages back.

This is why it is highly recommended that you back up your data before deleting your account. To take a backup of your account, move on to the next section. 

How to Export Data Before Deleting the Telegram Account

Before we proceed with this step, you must know that this can only be done from Telegram’s desktop app. That said, now, follow the instructions below to back up your Telegram account data.

Step 1: Open the Telegram desktop app, and click on the hamburger icon at the top left.

Open the Telegram desktop app

Step 2: Click on Settings.

Click on Settings

Step 3: Go to Advanced.

Go to Telegram Advanced Settings

Step 4: Scroll down, and click on ‘Export Telegram data’.

click on 'Export Telegram data.'

Step 3: Select the messages and media you want to export. You can set a size limit for downloading media files.

Select the messages and media you want to export

Step 4: Finally, select the format in which you want to export the data and click on Export.

We recommend downloading it in HTML format.

click on Export

Once done with this step, you can move on to deleting your account forever. There are two ways to delete your Telegram account: deleting the account manually and self-destructing your Telegram account after a set period.

Let us walk you through both methods, starting with instantly deleting your account.

How to Delete Telegram Account Instantly 

Before moving forward, it is necessary to note that Telegram does not allow you to delete your account through the Telegram Android app. However, if you are an iOS user, you can. We mentioned both processes below. Follow along based on the device you use.

I. Delete Telegram Account Permanently via Web Browser

Step 1: Go to the Telegram deactivation page using the below link and enter your phone number with your country code.

 

Go to the Telegram deactivation page

Step 2: Fill in the confirmation code sent to your Telegram app and click on Sign In.

Note: The code is sent to your Telegram app, not as an SMS.

click Sign In

Step 3: You will be directed to a page explaining the consequences of deleting your account. Read thoroughly and click on the ‘Delete My Account’ button.

You can add your reason for leaving Telegram if you want.

click on the 'Delete My Account' button

Step 4: Finally, you have to confirm by clicking on ‘Yes, delete my account.’

clicking on 'Yes, delete my account.'

Once you click on Yes, you’re permanently out of Telegram. It takes a few days to be able to create a new account if you wish to go back.

Delete Telegram Account Permanently using iPhone

It is pretty odd, but the Telegram app on iOS allows you to delete your account from the app. Here’s how to do it.

Step 1: Open the Telegram app on your iPhone and go to Settings.

Step 2: Under Settings, click on ‘Privacy and Security’.

Step 3: Now, tap on ‘If Away For’ under Automatically Delete my Account.

Step 4: Tap on ‘Delete Account Now’.

Step 5: Scroll down and tap on ‘Delete My Account’.

And there you go. Your Telegram account will be deleted permanently.

But what if you don’t want to delete your account right away and would rather give Telegram one more shot? You can set a time of inactivity, after which your account gets deleted automatically. This also gives you time to reconsider in case you wish to change your decision.

How to Automatically Delete Your Telegram Account After a Specific Time

This is a few-step process, and it doesn’t matter what device you use. The steps are common among all operating systems, such as Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac.

Note: We are using an Android device to demonstrate the steps.

Step 1: Open the Telegram app and tap on the hamburger menu.

Step 2: Under the hamburger menu, tap on Settings.

Step 3: Now, tap on ‘Privacy and Security.’  

Step 4: Scroll down and under Delete my account, tap on ‘If away for.’

Step 5: Now, choose to have your account deleted after 1/3/6 months or 1 year of inactivity. 

That’s that. Now, all you have to do is wait and be inactive for the specified time for your account to be deleted automatically.

What Happens When You Delete Your Telegram Account

As was mentioned at the beginning, all your data, such as messages, groups, and contacts, will be flushed from Telegram’s server. Moreover, before deleting your Telegram account, we recommend canceling your Telegram subscription if you are a premium user.

Mind you, all the groups and channels you made will be orphaned and left without a creator, but admins will keep their rights. Moreover, the group users can still chat without any hindrance and will have a copy of the messages you sent them.

FAQs on Deleting Your Telegram Account

1. How many times can you delete your Telegram account?

If you delete your Telegram account more than three times in a short period, your number will stop working on Telegram. That means you won’t be able to sign up on Telegram for up to three weeks.

2. Can I make a new Telegram account with the same number?

No. Telegram only allows you to have one account per mobile number.

3. Will my contacts know if I uninstall Telegram?

No, your contacts will not know if you uninstall Telegram. However, when you create an account, all your contacts get notified of your arrival on the platform if enabled.

4. Can I get my messages back after uninstalling Telegram?

Yes. As Telegram is a club-based messaging platform, you should be able to access your older messages after you re-install the Telegram app.

Breaking Up With Telegram Forever

I hope this article helped you delete your Telegram account permanently without any hassles. There are many features on Telegram that can serve as an inspiration for WhatsApp. Despite Telegram’s superior messaging experience, the platform becomes obsolete if your friends and family don’t use it.

What’s your reason for leaving Telegram? Let us know in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button