YouTube is a fantastic video service, but has the time come for you to delete your YouTube account? Maybe you want to wipe all of your comments or delete your videos. Or perhaps you want to temporarily pause the account so you can resume it later.
Whatever the case, we’re going to show you how to temporarily or permanently delete your YouTube channel and account.
What Do YouTube Channel and Account Mean?
When it comes to deleting or hiding content on YouTube, both your “channel” and “account” are considered one and the same.
You might use “channel” to refer to the videos you’ve uploaded, while “account” is for preferences or comments. For this guide, that distinction is not applicable and the terms are interchangeable. That’s because, for example, there is no way to delete your channel but keep your comments.
If you simply want to delete a specific video, rather than the entire account, check out our guide on how to delete or restore a YouTube video.
How to Temporarily Hide Your YouTube Channel
You can hide some of your YouTube content temporarily, with the intention of activating it again later. This process will hide your public videos and playlists. It will not hide your channel page or its artwork, nor your likes and subscriptions.
However, a word of warning: it will permanently delete all your comments. These will not reappear when you reactivate the channel.
How to Hide Your YouTube Channel (Desktop)
How to Hide Your YouTube Channel (Mobile)
How to Delete Your YouTube Channel
You can delete your YouTube channel completely. This is not reversible. Doing this will delete your videos, comments, messages, playlists, and watch history. It will remove your channel from search and render its URL unavailable. It will also cancel any paid subscriptions you own, like YouTube Premium or YouTube TV.
Any data associated with your channel, like viewing time, will remain part of aggregate reports but will not be associated with your channel specifically.
This process can take some time to fully complete, so may still see some of your content on YouTube for a while after.
How to Delete Your YouTube Channel (Desktop)
How to Delete Your YouTube Channel (Mobile)
How to Delete Your Google Account
YouTube is owned by Google, which means that your YouTube account is linked to your Google account. While you can delete your YouTube account and keep your Google account, you cannot do the opposite—the Google account is the overarching one.
If you want to delete your Google account, bear in mind that this is a nuclear option. It will not only delete your YouTube details, but also every other Google service you might use like Drive, Gmail, Google Play, and so on.
Rather than doing this, and if privacy and data retention is a concern, you might want to just set your Google account to auto-delete data instead.
If you do want to delete your Google account, and therefore your YouTube account, here’s how you do that.
How to Delete Your Google Account (Desktop)
How to Delete Your Google Account (Mobile)
Try an Alternative Service to YouTube
If you’re unsure whether you want to ditch YouTube completely, you should hide your channel before deleting it. But if you do decide that you’re done with YouTube, what should you use instead? There are loads of other video sites out there just waiting to be discovered, and you might find that they’re even better than YouTube.